Skip to main content

Town's annual elections are Monday

April 1, 2011

SEEKONK — Town residents will head to the polls on Monday, April 4 to choose their local elected officials. All voting will be conducted at a single polling place -- Seekonk High School, on Arcade Avenue -- from noon to 8 p.m.
For Board of Selectmen, voters will choose two candidates from among a field of four to fill two vacancies on the five-member panel. Longtime selectman Michael Brady has opted to not seek re-election, opening up one seat, while a second veteran selectman, Robert Richardson, has decided to run for a seat on the School Committee.
The four candidates vying for a three-year selectman's term are John K. Turner, of 26 Haig Ave.; William Rice, of 385 Oak Hill Ave.; Webster Larkin, Sr., of 890 Newman Ave.; and Robert J. McLintock, of 40 Oak Hill Ave. Turner, Larkin and McLintock have all served as selectman.
On the School Committee, former selectman Robert Richardson, of 42 Pershing Ave., is facing John P. Bilodeau, of 82 Bittersweet Dr. for a three-year seat.
The only other race on the ballot is between Phoebe Lee Dunn, of 660 Fall River Ave., who is seeking re-election to the Planning Board, and her challenger, Russell S. Horsman, of 55 Winthrop St.
For town moderator, Michelle A. Hines, of 29 Ricard St., is unopposed in her quest for the three-year position, and on the Board of Assessors, incumbent David A. Pitassi, of 70 Peep Toad Rd., is unopposed in his bid for re-election to another three-year term.
On the Housing Authority, incumbent Teresa Letendre, of 42 Ellis St., is unopposed in her bid for another five-year term on that board; incumbent Town Clerk Janet Parker, of 20 Melanie Circle, is uncontested for another three years in her position; and incumbent Water Commissioner Philip G. Campbell, of 21 Tompson Drive, is the lone candidate for another three-year seat on that panel.
On the Library Board of Trustees, both incumbents, Cheryl A. Faria, of 89 Read St., and Deborah Bostian, of 2 Tallwood Dr., are unopposed in their bids for re-election to three-year terms.
In addition, voters are being asked to approve a series of Town Charter amendments and to consider a ballot question asking that the timeframe for the first Annual Town Meeting of the year be changed from March, April or May to April, May or June.


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes