Skip to main content

Special election set for C.F. mayor

September 28, 2012

CENTRAL FALLS — Six people--three familiar names in local politics and and three political newcomers—have declared their intent to run for mayor of Central Falls in a special election to replace embattled former Mayor Charles Moreau.
The Rhode Island Board of Elections has set the date for a primary on November 6, the same day as the general election. The two candidates with the highest number of votes will then face off in a special election scheduled for December 11.
Near the end of Friday's 4 p.m deadline, one additional candidate, Kenneth Hazard, of 991 Lonsdale Ave., emerged to join the five individuals who declared for mayor on Thursday.
On Thursday, the first day to declare, former Mayor Thomas Lazieh, of 1072 Lonsdale Ave., current City Councilor James Diossa, of 175 Hedley St., and former Police Chief Joseph Moran, of 225 Shawmut Ave., all formally signed on as mayoral candidates.
They were joined by Tia Ristaino-Siegel, of 14 Worth St., who grew up in the city and manages several of her family's properties , and Bruce M. Corrigan, of 36 Temple Place, a retired Central Falls firefighter.
The 40-year-old Hazard is a general contractor and professional fighter who said he has lived in the city for most of his life. He said he wants to work to make Central Falls a cleaner, safer and more liveable place, especially for its youth, and has a lot of ideas on how to improve the city.
Corrigan, 65, is an Army veteran and longtime youth sports coach. He was was involved in the first Central Falls Community Center, established the Channel One drug and alcohol prevention program, and served as chairman of the volunteer board of directors governing the Wyatt Detention Center.
Several attempts to reach Ristaino-Siegel were unsuccessful.
Murphy said the candidates can pick up their nomination papers on October 2 and will have until October 9 at 4 p.m. to return them to the Board of Canvassers in City Hall with the signatures of 200 registered voters.


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes