Skip to main content

PC's Cotton named First Team All-Big East

March 10, 2013

PROVIDENCE – It was announced Sunday that Providence College junior guard Bryce Cotton was named All-Big East First Team. His teammate, redshirt junior Kadeem Batts, earned honorable mention honors from the league.
Cotton finished the Big East season as the scoring leader, averaging 18.3 points per conference. In all games, Cotton led the league with a 19.6-ppg mark. He is the fifth Friar all-time to lead the league in scoring, and the first since Marson Brooks (26.0 ppg) in 2011. He also joins former Friars Herbert Hill (2007, 19.9 ppg), Ryan Gomes (2005, 23.2 ppg), and Eric Murdock (1991, 27.2 ppg) as Big East scoring leaders.
Cotton became the 10th Friar all-time to earn All-Big East First Team honors and the first since Brooks earned the accolade in 2011. Other first teamers include sure-fire Player of the Year Otto Porter of Georgetown along with Russ Smith (Louisville), Gorgui Dieng (Louisville), Shabazz Napier (Connecticut) and Jack Cooley (Notre Dame).
Batts had a breakout season for the Friars. He is averaging 15.2 points and 7.4 rebounds per game. He has recorded five double-doubles and was named Big East Player of the Week on February 11. He ranks 11th in the league in scoring, sixth in rebounding and 10th in field goal percentage (49.0 percent, 87-147).
Batts is expected to be one of the leading contenders for Big East Most Improved Player, an award that will be unveiled Monday.
The Friars will return to action on Wednesday at Noon as the No. 8 seed versus No. 9 seed Cincinnati at New York’s Madison Square Garden in the Big East Tournament.
Thursday’s winner faces top-seeded Georgetown Thursday at noontime.
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut, G, Jr., 6-1, 171, Roxbury, Mass.
*Otto Porter, Jr., Georgetown, F, So., 6-8, 205, Sikeston, Mo.
Gorgui Dieng, Louisville, C, Jr., 6-11, 245, Kebemer, Senegal
Russ Smith, Louisville, G, Jr., 6-0, 165, Briarwood, N.Y.
Jack Cooley, Notre Dame, F, Sr., 6-9, 246, Glenview, Ill.
Bryce Cotton, Providence, G, Jr., 6-1, 165, Tucson, Ariz.
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati, G, Jr., 6-4, 221, White Plains, N.Y.
Vander Blue, Marquette, G, Sr., 6-4, 200, Madison, Wisc.
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame, G, Jr., 6-5, 202, Bowie, Md.
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse, G, So., 6-6, 185, Hamilton, Mass.
C.J. Fair, Syracuse, F, Jr., 6-8, 215, Baltimore, Md.
Markel Starks, Georgetown, G, Jr., 6-2, 175, Accokeek, Md.
Peyton Siva, Louisville, G, Sr., 6-0, 185, Seattle, Wash.
Tray Woodall, Pittsburgh, G, Sr., 6-0, 190, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Brandon Triche, Syracuse, G, Sr., 6-4,210, Jamesville, N.Y.
JayVaughn Pinkston, Villanova, F, So., 6-6, 240, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Davante Gardner, Marquette, F, Jr., 6-8, 290, Suffolk, Va.
Kadeem Batts, Providence, F, Jr., 6-9, 245, Powder Springs, Ga.
JaKarr Sampson, St. John’s, F, Fr., 6-8, 204, Barberton, Ohio
Fuquan Edwin, Seton Hall, F, Jr., G-F, 6-6, 205, Paterson, N.J.
Omar Calhoun, Connecticut, G, Fr., 6-5, 195, Brooklyn, N.Y.
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera, Georgetown, G, Fr., 6-3, 227, Indianapolis, Ind.
Steven Adams, Pittsburgh, C, Fr., 7-0, 250, Roturua, New Zealand
Chris Obekpa, St. John’s, C, Fr., 6-9, 223, Makurdi, Nigeria
*JaKarr Sampson, St. John’s, F, Fr., 6-8, 204, Barberton, Ohio
*Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova, G, Fr., 6-3, 195, Langhorne, Pa.
*Denotes unanimous selection.
^Due to a tie in the voting, an additional position was named.
Tuesday, March 12 – First Round (ESPNU)
No. 13 USF (12-18) vs. No. 12 Seton Hall (14-17), 7 p.m.
No. 14 DePaul (11-20) vs. No. 11 Rutgers (14-15), 9 p.m.

Wednesday, March 13 – Second Round (ESPN/ESPN2)
No. 9 Cincinnati (21-10) vs. No. 8 Providence (17-13), Noon
USF/Seton Hall winner vs. No. 5 Syracuse (23-8), 2 p.m.
No. 10 St. John’s (16-14) vs. No. 7 Villanova (19-12), 7 p.m.
Rutgers/DePaul winner vs. No. 6 Notre Dame (23-8), 9 p.m.

Thursday, March 14 – Quarterfinals (ESPN)
8/9 winner vs. No. 1 Georgetown (24-5), Noon
5/12/13 winner vs. No. 4 Pittsburgh (24-7), 2 p.m.
7/10 winner vs. No. 2 Louisville (26-5), 7 p.m.
6/11/14 winner vs. No. 3 Marquette (23-7), 9 p.m.

Friday, March 15 – Semifinals (ESPN)
Thursday afternoon winners, 7 p.m.
Thursday evening winners, 9 p.m.

Saturday, March 16 – Championship (ESPN)
Semifinal winners, 8:30 p.m.


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes