Skip to main content

PawSox' Tamburro to be inducted into I.L. Hall of Fame

January 31, 2012

Per the Pawtucket Red Sox ...

The International League announced Tuesday that former pitcher Dave Eiland, former manager Bill Evers, and current club executive Mike Tamburro will be inducted into the circuit's Hall of Fame as members of the Class of 2012. The three men comprise the second Class elected to the IL Hall by a vote of current Hall of Fame members, longtime executives, broadcasters, and members of the media.

Members of the Class of 2012 have been added to the International League Hall of Fame plaque display. The inductees will be presented with "The Curtain Call" statue during individual enshrinement ceremonies to take place during the coming season. The IL Hall of Fame plaque display does not have a permanent home, but rather serves as a traveling testament to the storied legacy of the International League.

Former International League Most Valuable Pitcher Dave Eiland was arguably the most accomplished hurler in the League during the 1990's, leading the circuit in wins, strikeouts, and complete games. A member of three Governors' Cup champion clubs, Eiland posted a career mark of 82-42 with a 3.44 ERA with Columbus, Charlotte, and Durham. In 2007 Eiland was the pitching coach for the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees before serving in the same capacity for the New York Yankees from 2008 to 2010. He is currently the pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals.

During one of Eiland's seasons in Columbus and all three years he played in Durham, his manager was fellow inductee Bill Evers. Evers is the winningest manager in Durham Bulls history. His clubs made six playoff appearances between 1998 and 2004, sweeping their way to a pair of Governors' Cup championships along the way. A two-time member of the International League All-Star coaching staff, Evers left the Bulls in 2006 to join the Tampa Bay Rays field staff. He is currently the field coordinator for the organization.

Rounding out the Class of 2012 is one of the League's longest-tenured executives. Mike Tamburro joined the Pawtucket Red Sox in 1977 as General Manager. He spearheaded the turnaround from a struggling organization to one of Minor League Baseball's model franchises. Tamburro, who was appointed to his current title of President in 1985, has been honored a record five times as the International League Executive of the Year. He has also been a leading force in Minor League Baseball, serving as a member and former Chairman of the industry's Board of Trustees.

The IL Hall of Fame, established in 1947, was dormant from 1964 until the League's 125th Anniversary season in 2008. Following a three-year transition period (2008-10) in which a total of 50 individuals were inducted after having been selected by a committee, the Class of 2012 was the second chosen by what will continue to serve as the annual election process. Each year the top three vote-getters who also receive a vote on the majority of ballots returned will be elected.

Complete statistical data and biographical information on all 107 members of the IL Hall of Fame, along with a copy of the International League Hall of Fame policies, procedures, and guidelines are available at


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes